Hey, do you still braid some flowers in your hair

Long time no see!

The statue the pose is based on

I’m back with a new piece inspired by a song (because there aren’t enough music-related drawings on here yet.)
This time it’s Stabat Mater by Woodkid.

I love Woodkid since his song Iron was used as a trailer song for Assassin’s Creed Revelations (Later they used “Golden Age” for AC Unity, which might have been a reason why I was especially excited for ACU and a little disappointed afterwards). I love his partly baroque-esque songs and the lyrics are pretty poetic. Seeing him live is definitely one of the things I want to do in my life.

Stabat Mater has always been one of my favourite songs by him, the choir, the orchestra, it’s just epic.
The title refers to a poem about Mary who is suffering because her son is crucified.
Vivaldi composed a pretty decent piece about it too some time ago.

My drawing was mostly influenced by the song and less by the Mother Mary & Jesus story, so I tried to reference the war-theme of it with the paint in her face and decided to draw her looking into the distance since I think the song is about saying goodbye without knowing if there will ever be a meeting again and she’s looking at the person who just left her.

The pose with the arrows and the dagger in her shoulder is based of a statue of Mary I actually had saved in my inspiration folder since a long time because while I’m not really a believer in the classical sense I really adore churches art-wise. The statues and the architecture are just extremely beautiful.


I really hope you like it!

By the way, this is not my first “redraw” of a statue with religious background, I already did one a while back, it was “Ecstasy of Saint Theresa” by Bernini.

Oh and yesterday I got all the things I did in my art class in the last two years back so there will be a bigger post with all my school-drawings in the next couple of days. Among them is a really malicious looking bird and a deformed car, so yeah, things to look forward to!

2 thoughts on “Hey, do you still braid some flowers in your hair

Leave a comment