Moon prism power & moon tiara magic

The face of a winner.
The face of a winner.

When I was a child, Sailor Moon was one of my favourite shows. I loved Usagi and always laughed until my stomach hurt because of her clumsiness and I adored all the other Sailor Soldiers as well, especially Sailor Mars and Sailor Pluto, they were pretty much my favourites. Back in the day, I recorded all the episodes on VHS so I could watch them on repeat and forced my friends to reenact them later with barbie dolls. I even had a Sailor Moon costume which I wore to a costume contest. I won free Pizza. This deepened my relationship to Sailor Moon even further. Since the 90s are having this weird comeback right now and there is this Loveparade/Raver thing going on, the double bun is absolutely in as well and who rocked the double bun at first? Correct, Usagi. And I love this hairstyle a lot. I wanted to draw somebody with a similar hairstyle since an eternity and today I finally did it. I also couldn’t stop myself from putting a moon in the back and putting something on her head as a little nod to the moon tiara and well…the moon. Progress:

And the final picture:

Mirrored, played with the colours a bit and added a colour-layer on top.
Mirrored, played with the colours a bit and added a colour-layer on top.

By the way, I found a great playlist on spotify. It’s mostly acoustic music, I listened to it while drawing and it’s extremely relaxing and keeps the flow flowing. You should check it out, maybe it works for you as well! Many of the songs are great.

spotify:user:spotify_germany:playlist:67l7hkkmvxVVocJaVkHsA6

Leave a Reply

